Dr. Christina A. Gabrillo head of Department of Development Communication and Dr. Zenaida C. Gonzaga of the Department of Horticulture are among VSU's 2017 Outstanding Performance Awardees.

Dr. Gabrillo is the recipient of the Outstanding Extensionist Award in recognition of her outstanding performance as an extensioncommunicator. She currently heads the project component on Communication, Advocacy and Governance in Abaca Rehabilitation Project of LGU-Sogod. She also cohosted the University-on-the- Air on Rice Production sponsored by the Department of Agriculture in Region 8 and co-produced four participatory dramas with women beneficiaries of the VSU-OXFAM project in Salcedo, Eastern Samar.

Dr. Gonzaga of Department of Horticulture, on the other hand, is the recipient of the Outstanding Researcher Award. Her active involvement in various research projects benefited many students, farmers, extension workers and visitors of her research site that serves as a showcase of different technologies in vegetable production. As a proof of her excellence in research, she previously led an ACIAR project that improved farmers' yields by developing costeffective structures to protect vegetable crops from heavy rain and typhoons.

The VSU Awards Committee headed by Dr. Wolfreda T. Alesna is tasked to look into some individuals and institutions who are worthy of recognition. The Search for the Outstanding Performance Award has four categories, namely, Outstanding Academician Award, Outstanding Teacher Award, Outstanding Researcher Award and Outstanding Extensionist Award.

The awards were handed over by Hon. Carlos Jericho “Icot” Petilla, former Secretary of the Department of Energy and Dr. Edgardo E. Tulin, VSU President on August 10, 2017 at VSU Gymnatorium on the occasion of VSU’s 93rd Founding Anniversary.