The Department of Soil Science (DSS) was created last 01 November 2014 when the decade-old proposal to split the Department of Agronomy and Soil Science (DASS) into two separate departments (Department of Agronomy and Department of Soil Science) was finally approved under the administration of President Jose L. Bacusmo..

DSS is a leading soil science department in the country today in terms of faculty strength and research outputs particularly scientific publication.